Pour une meilleure expérience,
veuillez tourner votre appareil en mode portrait.

Dans les murs

isdaT beaux-arts

Paul Noble

from nov. 9th to dec. 3rd 2016

exhibitions

opening on november 9th 2016 — 6:30pm
palais des arts, isdaT beaux-arts
Some of the artworks may offend the youngest viewers.

 

Mummy, she rises from the foam, her hair is orange like the sun and her body is the green ray. Baby is born from the sea, lands on the beach and crawls until finding a hole and falling into it.

Daddy wants to build a sandcastle and wasn’t watching when baby fell down the hole. Mummy angry. Daddy must save the baby, and then build a sandcastle. Dog is not on a lead, hidden behind the sandcastle. Sandcastle dog, sandcastle crabs.

 

On different occasions the monolith has appeared as an obscure impression, in a darkened theatre, projected upon the screen, or seated upon the mount, overseeing the road that leads to the sea. No longer an indefinite memory, it finally materialises itself as folly and oracle; a prophecy whose counsel is a console, a computer game where the fate of DADDY SANDCASTLE or SANDY DADDY or SANDY HOLE or BABY BLACK HOLE DADDY rests upon your dexterity.

For this exhibition, Paul Noble presents the first realisation of a project he has been working on for ten years. With programming assistance from Phillip Hennessey, Noble has designed a 2D computer game named DADDY HOLE, within a custom-built arcade game cabinet, and invites the public to try it out.

Paul Noble (b. 1963, Dilston, Northumberland) studied at Sunderland Polytechnic and Humberside College of Higher Education. He was one of five founding members of City Racing, an influential artists’ space in London (1988–98), where he showed in 1990. Noble’s work has since been exhibited in London at Cubitt Gallery (1995), Chisenhale Gallery (1998), Tate Gallery (1999), and Whitechapel Art Gallery (2004). He has also exhibited internationally at the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York (2003); Migros Museum, Zurich (2005); Gagosian Gallery, New York (2007) and Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2014); Noble was nominated for the 2012 Turner Prize for the solo exhibition “Welcome to Nobson,” at the Gagosian Gallery, London (2011).

Text: Paul Noble et Adam Scrivener.

 

Free entrance from wednesday to sunday, except on public holidays, 1pm to 7pm, within Graphéine #8, graphic arts festival by Pinkpong network, from november 5th to december 8th 2016, in Toulouse and Toulouse conurbation.

 

  • Linkedin isdat

Pour une meilleure expérience,
veuillez tourner votre appareil en mode portrait.

Dans les murs

isdaT beaux-arts

Paul Noble

du 9 nov. au 3 déc. 2016

expositions

vernissage mercredi 9 novembre 2016 — 18h30
palais des arts, isdaT beaux-arts
Attention, certaines œuvres peuvent heurter la sensibilité du jeune public.

 

Maman, elle se dresse depuis la mousse, ses cheveux sont oranges comme le soleil et son corps est le rayon vert. Bébé, né de la mer, atterrit sur la plage et rampe jusqu’à trouver un trou et tomber dedans.

Papa veut construire un château de sable et n’a pas regardé quand bébé est tombé dans le trou. Maman en colère. Papa doit sauver le bébé et après construire un château de sable. Chien n’est pas en laisse, caché derrière le château de sable. Chien du château de sable, crabes du château de sable.

 

À différentes occasions, le monolithe est apparu comme une obscure impression, projeté sur un écran dans une salle noire ou assis sur un mont, dominant la route qui mène à la mer. Quittant le lieu d’une mémoire indéfinie, il se matérialise enfin comme une folie et un oracle, une prophétie dont le conseil est une console, un jeu vidéo où le destin de DADDY SANDCASTLE ou SANDY DADDY ou SANDY HOLE ou BABY BLACK HOLE DADDY dépend de votre adresse.

Pour cette exposition, Paul Noble présente une première réalisation d’un projet sur lequel il travaille depuis dix ans. En collaboration avec le programmateur Philip Hennessey, Paul Noble a développé le jeu vidéo 2D intitulé DADDY HOLE qu’il installe dans une borne d’arcade et propose au public d’expérimenter.

Paul Noble (né en 1963, à Dilston, Northumberland, Royaume-Uni) a fait ses études à Sunderland Polytechnic and Humberside College of Higher Education. Il est l’un des cinq membres fondateurs du City Racing, un espace indépendant, géré par des artistes qui a marqué la scène londonienne des années 1988-1998. Il y a présenté une exposition en 1990. Depuis, son travail a été montré à Londres à Cubitt Gallery (1995), Chisenhale Gallery (1998), Tate Gallery (1999) et Whitechapel Art Gallery (2004). Il a également exposé à l’international : Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York (2003) ; Migros Museum, Zurich (2005) ; Gagosian Gallery, New York (2007) et Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2014). Noble a été sélectionné, en 2012, pour le Turner Prize, pour l’exposition personnelle « Welcome to Nobson » à la Gagosian Gallery, Londres (2011).

Texte : Paul Noble et Adam Scrivener
Traduction : Ana Scrivener.

Entrée libre du mercredi au dimanche, sauf jours fériés, de 13h à 19h, dans le cadre de Graphéine #8, festival des arts graphiques du réseau Pinkpong, du 5 novembre au 8 décembre 2016 à Toulouse et sa métropole.

  • Linkedin isdat

© Paul Noble